Food Allergies and Special DietsDining Hall

Welcome!

Our food service team is dedicated to helping campers and guests stay safe and healthy during their time at Camp Henry. We understand that each camper and guest’s food allergies are unique, and our staff would love to connect with you to discuss the safest food options for your stay with us. For questions, or to share your dietary information, please email [email protected] or call 616-717-5568.

 

FAQ's about Camp Henry's Food and Diet Accommodations

What meals and allergen-safe alternatives will be served while I am at Camp Henry?

We know that you are ultimately the expert on your own food allergy. Please email [email protected] or call 616-717-5568 three weeks in advance of your stay at Camp Henry to receive menu allergy-specific product information.

Is Camp Henry free of any of the Top 8 Food Allergens?

Camp Henry is not an allergen-free facility, and does not have dedicated allergen-free ovens, warmers, cutting boards, knives, etc. However, our food service staff are trained in allergen awareness and work to minimize the risk of cross-contact every step of the way. To learn more about our food preparation processes please contact [email protected] or 616-717-5568.

 

Common Food Allergies

Gluten

We consider anything that does not list, “Wheat, barley, or rye,” anywhere on the label to be gluten-free. We offer gluten-free alternatives for every meal if you have indicated this request on your Health Form three weeks in advance of your stay. If you would like to know what specific product brands are being served during your stay, and if they are labeled as, “Certified Gluten-Free,” please contact us directly at [email protected] or 616-717-5568.

Dairy

Dairy appears in various places on our weekly menu, including yogurt and milk at breakfast, cheese and ranch on salads, ice cream for dessert, and macaroni & cheese and quesadillas as common meal options. Our staff considers anything that does not list, “Milk or whey,” anywhere on the label to be dairy-free. We offer dairy-free alternatives for every meal if you have indicated this request on your Health Form three weeks in advance of your stay.

Egg

Eggs are a common breakfast item served and are sometimes found in less obvious items such as salad dressing or pasta. We offer egg-free alternatives for every meal if you have indicated this request on your Health Form three weeks in advance of your stay.  

Peanuts & Tree Nuts

We are not a nut-free facility. However, we strive to be as nut-aware as possible and extremely limit the presence of peanuts and tree nuts in our kitchen and dining hall to the extent we are able. 

While we are traditionally a summer camp, we host a variety of guest groups throughout the year who may choose to provide their own meals and snacks. We ask that these items not contain nuts or be brought into cabins, but like a school or other public place, we cannot have eyes everywhere and guarantee a nut-free environment. 

We do not serve food out of our kitchen that directly contains peanuts or tree nuts. A few of our items include, “May contain,” or, “Manufactured in a facility with,” statements, such as our cookies and granola bars. 

Coconut or coconut oil are found in some of the products we serve, like fruit snacks. If you or your camper are allergic to coconut in any form, please indicate this on your Health Form.

Vegetarian & Vegan Options 

We offer vegetarian and vegan alternatives for every meal if you have indicated this request on your health form three weeks in advance of your stay. Common vegetarian options include Morningstar Vegetarian Sausage Patties, Gardenburger Malibu Vegan Burgers, and Morningstar Vegetarian Black Bean Burgers